Cats and Dogs

It’s March, and the season for madness, if you’re a college basketball fan, and for unbounded optimism if you’re a baseball fan.  I have lived in Connecticut for over 30 years, but for some reason, I still identify with the hometown teams from the area where I grew up, the D.C.-Maryland region.  Even though I’ve spent twice as many years up here in the land of the Giants or Patriots, Yankees or Red Sox, I can’t bring myself to switch allegiances. It would have been so easy (and probably good for my overall outlook on life) if I’d shed my loyalty to such dysfunctional teams as the Washington Redskins and the Baltimore Orioles.  If I’d decided to become a Yankees fan I could celebrate October glory with regularity. I might even see the world in rosier colors. If I’d jumped on the Patriots bandwagon at the turn of the century, I’d have celebrated with Brady and Belichick every other February.

Instead, I stick with those teams that I rooted for way back in the seventies.  Maybe it’s a loyalty thing, like sticking with an old friend, but honestly I could probably put more effort into staying in touch with old friends.

Maybe it’s because those teams remind me of simpler times. They connect me to my youth.   Every time I root for the Orioles or Redskins, does it make me feel a little like that kid who used to wake up early on Monday mornings just so he could read every word of every article in the Washington Post about the previous day’s football game?  Maybe.

The truth is, there’s a contest going on inside me, a contest between my rational brain and my romantic brain.  My rational brain gives me a lot of reasons why I should curb my sports addiction.  It says I should stop paying attention to professional football. I have big problems with the way the NFL responded to their concussion problems and the clear long-term health problems that follow. The NFL reminds me too much of the old cigarette companies denying the research on smoking’s effects.  Why would I stick with an industry like that? Furthermore, the team I root for has a name that many consider demeaning and racist, yet their stubborn owner refuses to consider a more acceptable name (I could get behind the Washington Redhawks). I don’t wear their gear anymore. I try to refer to them as the Washington football team, but how lame is that as a protest?

My baseball team has the misfortune of playing in the same division as the Yankees and Red Sox.  Rooting for the Orioles might be tied more to my love of the underdog. I like the idea of a low-budget team contending with the mega-rich teams from New York and Boston.  It feels like rooting for David against Goliath. The problem is, with only a few rare moments as exceptions, David loses regularly.  His last championship was in 1983.

This winter, my football team faded.  This spring, my baseball team shows few signs of crawling out of the cellar.  I’d turn to college basketball, but they’re seeming far from wholesome these days, too.  As many as 30 programs are under investigation by the FBI for illegal recruiting, bribery, and other scandalous behavior.  The NCAA makes so much money, but it cannot seem to police itself.

I love the excitement of watching and rooting, but where can I take that desire for competition?   

My daughter is a senior at tiny Davidson College in North Carolina.  They have fewer than 2000 students, and they’re known for their academics more than for their sports teams, but they’re the school that brought us Steph Curry, and they’re scrappy.  I like that word.  Here’s what else I like about them. They don’t commit recruiting violations.  Their athletes take real classes and almost always graduate (though Steph still needs three more credits). Their highly successful coach has remained there for 30 years because he just likes the school and the small town of Davidson. They play an unselfish game with very little flash or showmanship.  Their nickname (Wildcats) offends no one. 

This weekend, they’re trying to claw their way into the big tournament. It’s a long shot. They’ll have to win their conference tournament, but hey, they’ve got “David” in their name. On both sides of my brain, they’re the best kind of underdog. Go Cats!

15 thoughts on “Cats and Dogs

  1. It is so difficult to let go of what we knew growing up, isn’t it? Some things hold such memories that it’s tough to move from them. But the memories keep us there, somehow.

    Kudos to you for moving on to cheer on your daughter’s team. Creating a new fan-base that she can enjoy with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t know about Dickinson, but it sounds like a great school with values I appreciate (scholar-athletes — and scholar comes first!). Here’s to your new favorite team!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “A time for unbounded optimism if you’re a baseball fan” – that line is too good! I confess that I’m not a sports enthusiast (but I adore watching 30 for 30; the lives and stories of the athletes mesmerize me). As a North Carolinian living in the Triangle, I know full well the meaning of March Madness. College basketball here is a religion; you do well to invoke David and Goliath! I love seeing the underdog overcome. Cheers to your daughter and the team, and my sympathies on the Redskins; my dad was a diehard fan when I was growing up.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this line. “Maybe it’s a loyalty thing, like sticking with an old friend, but honestly I could probably put more effort into staying in touch with old friends.” Wow. Yes. I’m with you there. My friends deserve more effort from me!
    However, I’m a Missouri girl. I have the Cards to the east and the Royals to the west. I’m pretty lucky as a baseball fan. I’ve always cheered on the Chiefs, but I’m a lifelong Dallas Cowboys cheerleader. I may have been distracted by Warner, Faulk, and the Rams for a couple of years… 🙂 College football has a piece of my heart, too.
    But I can’t afford anyone serving in a role model position too much grace. You are in the spotlight. You’ve earned it with effort and talent, now work to keep it.
    Thanks for sharing today!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I was going to comment on the same line as Emily. I don’t follow sports, but, on Sports Day at school, I want to wear a Montreal Canadiens shirt, even though I live across the continent in Portland OR. The seeds were planted early in my brain and have deep, deep roots.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You will always be an Oriole fan to me. Your allegiance is rooted in your childhood, and my witness to your allegiance goes back 26 years when 8 first met you. I love how you capture your desire for the underdog…the scrappy one…to come out on top! I love it when the unexpected happens! I’m rooting for Davidson because of this slice! Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love the post. Two years ago, I gave up watching the NFL. Honestly, I can’t remember life without it. My whole life was football. Played through high school. Gave up the opportunity to play for a small college. 9 hours watching on Sundays. Monday Night Football. Never missed a snap. But you’re right. Seeing it crumble over the last few years, where the league first tried to portray their players as ‘soldiers.’ Mental illness linked to head injuries, covered-up by the League. Rule changes that consistently interrupt the game. Technology that has made fans expect fairness on an imperfect plane. Fantasy Football, so you can finally try to be successful, because your team hasn’t been able to put together a winning season in a 10 years. One day, I just stopped watching it. I’m tired of the spectacle. It’s far from the game I grew up playing. And I don’t miss it a bit. So glad you have a place to funnel that competitive energy. Thanks for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You convinced me: Go Cats! They are “wild” and have a bit of “David” going for them. Love “scrappy one” and the “David & Goliath” metaphor. Thanks for was a fun read.

    Like

  9. Don’t know how I missed this one yesterday – but I’m glad I found it this morning. I didn’t grow up rooting for a particular team, but your thoughts on giving up something from your childhood, and the struggle between rational and romantic, well that comes through in spades and I can completely understand. I especially loved your last paragraph – here’s hoping Davidson wins!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. And I happen to turn the TV on to see Davidson playing Rhode Island and although not a b-ball fan, had to watch and root for the underdog! AND THEY WON! (Never would have watched had you not shared your slice!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment