What am I learning here?

It’s day 20 of the Slice of Life Challenge, and I have surprised myself by keeping up, so far.  I had thought I might make it a week before lapsing.  I imagined I might run out of material.  I knew I would have a hard time keeping things short.  I was aided by weekends and snow days, to be sure, but now I have the hardest third of the month to go. So, what have I learned?

  1. I’ve learned that I crave feedback.
  2. I’ve learned that I need to remember that I crave feedback if I’m going to be a good teacher.
  3. I’ve learned that I need to really pay attention during the day.
  4. I’ve learned that I need to really pay attention when I drive.
  5. I’ve learned that I spend as much time fiddling with my writing as I spend writing.
  6. I’ve learned that I do silly things like find mistakes in posts from two weeks ago and still think it matters that I edit them.
  7. I’ve learned that vacations are full of writing material.
  8. I’ve learned that almost anything can become a slice.
  9. I’ve learned that I get ideas from the people whose writing I read.
  10. I’ve learned that it doesn’t really get easier.  Darn!
  11. I’ve learned that it’s really hard to have a full-time job and take on a writing challenge for a month.
  12. I’ve learned that some people have a full-time job, a writing challenge for a month, and have several kids under  the age of 5 at home.
  13. I’ve learned that in that case, I’m sort of a whiner.
  14. I’ve learned that even if I spend a lot of my day’s  energy ranting about the president, I can find better things to write about.
  15. I’ve learned that in that case, I’m not entirely a whiner.
  16.  I’ve learned that number 16 had writer’s block.
  17. I’ve learned that when I make quick lists of ideas, I suddenly feel rich.
  18. I’ve learned that abandoning hope is a strategy.
  19. I’ve learned that there are a lot of talented writers out there on TWT.
  20. I’ve learned that even my lists go on too long.

 

12 thoughts on “What am I learning here?

  1. Your list gave me a reason to smile this morning. You’ve learned a lot this month! You may find that on April 1st, it will feel weird not to write. It always takes me about a week to fill in that time with other pursuits.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your list and I just be “steal” oops be inspired by this one! I will
    Say, your longer posts have encouraged me to be a more thoughtful reader and writer! So, thank you!! Even your list has your voice and humor! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Each day you post, I do a silent cheer. I knew you had doubts but I think you’re going to make it. When I read that you crave feedback, I was thinking why we could take from that and apply from our teaching. As I read on, I realized you had already made that important connection. Power through. I believe in you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You have such voice, and such a great style in your writing. You are funny at times, and really deep at times. You have scope. You list is a great one. I love #16. See….funny! I’m enjoying your writing. Please keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You crack me up. Point out which blogs I should reread and I’ll do it. Abandoning hope is definitely is a strategy and you are skeptical of waiters but probably tip well. You have 10 more blogs in you easily. The last one you just write about all you’ve learned.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment