Nesting

“I think he’ll like this.”  Sarah holds up a bright green hippopatumus.  She squeezes it. It makes a strange low snorty noise.  

“What kind of noise is that?” I ask.

“It’s the noise a hippo makes, I think.”  Sarah heads to Youtube and searches hippo sounds.  Sure enough, it’s a match.

“Well, we wouldn’t want him to think that hippos make some sort of generic squeak sound.”

“I know, right?”  Sarah agrees. “Then, if he met one in the wild, he’d really be taken off guard by the actual noise they make.” 

We concur that this is a fine first toy for our puppy, the one we haven’t met yet.

The girls have spent the weekend preparing the nest.  My sole contribution has been to set up the crate in the family room.  Nancy and Sarah, having returned from “baby shopping,” reveal each new purchase: 

“Here we have a rope knot toy.  Excellent for tug of war.”

 “And here’s another one we liked.”  It’s a blue spiky toy, clearly meant as doggy dental floss. 

“Oh, and here are the collars.”  Nancy has taken back the first collar she purchased. “Yeah, it would have fit if we had gotten a kitten.”  We’ve been informed that the 11-week-old has already cracked 40 pounds. He’s going to be large. “Look, we found two that match.” Nancy unveils two collars to replace the first, a puppy collar (which will fit him for about a month) and a full-grown size. She’s bought a heavy-duty leash, complete with reflectors for those early morning walks.

They’ve bought Puppy Chow for starters, and then some fancier brand, since the woman who found us our dog referred to Puppy Chow as “shelter-quality” food.  We’ll have none of that. Sarah is pleased that they’ve found a brand that’s a cut above “shelter quality” but significantly below the “break the bank” quality that we had to feed Boo in his old age.  

 And finally, Nancy reaches into her purse, pulling out the personalized tag, inscribed with the name, Farley, and our address.  His new home is ready.

Let’s hope the current residents are, too.

12 thoughts on “Nesting

  1. I love this slice, and it is so well-paced! It sounds like you are ready with love, and that is all that matters. Best of luck with your new, “little” smoochie-pooch!

    Like

  2. Oh! I’d been waiting for a puppy story and you’ve set the stage beautifully with this anticipatory one. I love the snarky “shelter quality” comment about Puppy Chow and the puppy toy dialogue. I can’t wait to meet Farley and I’m so glad to know he won’t be taken aback by any natural hippo sounds he encounters in the wild. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The anticipation! I laughed at the kitten collar. Sounds like a big pup! It sounds like you are ready. I hope Farley knows what a lucky puppy he is to have a family like yours to call his own. Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I had no idea where you were going with the hippo toy in the beginning, and then I love the way you introduce us to the puppy preparation plans. I too love the “shelter quality” comment about the food. We were shamed into buying some sort of expensive brand by a pet store owner too! And then the name tag was such a great object to use to close the piece. I can’t wait to get to know more about Farley through these posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved the phrased “already cracked 40 pounds.” The word cracked made me picture an egg and a new life bursting forth no longer able to be contained. I’m sure this new puppy is going to burst forth into your home – and be greeted with lots of love. Lucky guy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love the anticipation this slice embodies. The hippo toy, the baby shopping, the kitten collar, the “shelter food”–such rich descriptions. Farley is a lucky rescue.

    Like

  7. We will be in the puppy market sooner than I would like. But thinking of all the fun preparations you describe helps to mask the thought of eventually parting with our most loved dog, Sky.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment