Some Proofreading Necessary

B. was sitting at a table in the resource room sharing what he’d put together for a free choice project in his fourth grade class.  He had chosen to create a short slide presentation about TMJ issues that he had been dealing with. You know, problems with the temporomandibular joint.   I knew a bit about B., so while I knew that he was earnest and bright,  I suspected that we were going to have to do a bit of proofreading of his slides.  He can be a bit impulsive.  And temporomandibular is pretty hard to spell.

At first I just asked B. to tell me a bit about the topic.  He related that he’d gone to a doctor last year when he had been experiencing some pain in his ears.  “The doctor put his fingers on the side of my face, next to my ears and he said I had TMJ.”

Then B. explained it to me.  “It’s when your jaw joint gets really sore.”  I had no experience with TMJ, but I suspected that it was a bit more complicated than that.  I asked B. what resources he had used to get ready for this presentation.  He allowed how he basically already knew everything he needed for the presentation, so he didn’t really read much.  He just found some useful pictures.  

With that, we  started reviewing his slides.  He was right, he hadn’t done much reading, and he had found quite a few pictures.  After reading the introduction and the “causes” section, I suggested that we might try to find an article that could help him.  We printed out a short piece from KidsHealth.  We found it on the “parents” tab, so I had to help him with the reading, but it gave him a few facts that he could share.  We highlighted and thought about which section the bits of information might fit into.  

It was when we got to his next slide that things got interesting.  B. had a section where he wanted to show his audience a close-up of the place where the lower jaw met the skull and formed the problematic joint.  

This seemed logical, and since he had been doing this work in Google Slides, it had made perfect sense for him to do a quick image search for that joint.  Using similar logic, B. had typed “joint” in the search window.  He might have needed to narrow that search.

On that next slide, there wasn’t much text, but there were two very large images of two very large joints.  They just weren’t the temporomandibular kind.  They were the cannabis kind.   My eyes may have bugged out a bit.  Then my brain made the connection.  I snorted and bit my lip (thank you KN95).  “Umm, B., why do you have these pictures on this slide?”

“Those are the joints,” B. said, matter of factly.  “But they don’t look like they’re in very good shape.”

Right.  At least one of them looked to be a bit burnt out. I let B.  know (not too bluntly) that those were not human bones in those pictures, and that he might have to refine his search.   

Like I said, a bit of proofreading is always wise.  Otherwise all your hard work and research might just go up in smoke.

22 thoughts on “Some Proofreading Necessary

  1. Your slice is such an honest view of a student creating a presentation and a teacher kindly supporting. This current generation of kids is so visual. My own students do the same thing. They search images and assume they are all are perfect matches for their broad search. Your slice shows so well the necessity for critical thinking. And it gave me a chuckle, too!! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not sure what I love the most in here– how you unfold the story, that he was presenting something so personal, the craft move of thanking the mask, dealing with joints in the classroom– I hope he looks back on this in the future and has as good a laugh as you did about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m laughing out loud. I also have the pleasure of sitting with B for a few sessions, trying to decipher what his angle was…we didn’t get far. I never saw the slides- but I can picture the whole thing! Your word choice is spot on.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a fabulous moment that, of course, you crafted brilliantly! I can just imagine your face at that joint slide!! Experienced teacher…exuding calm over shock! Live your stories you are living in your new job! We – colleagues and kids – are so lucky to have you back

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh, my goodness! This is quite the app-roach to a blog post. I’m glad I was able to weed this one out of the many I wanted to read.

    I’m also sitting here trying to picture you trying to maintain your composure with this kid. It’s always fun when I’ve got a student who unwittingly says or does something COMPLETELY inappropriate, and the sophomoric side of me really wants to take over – but alas. I’m a teacher, so I just have to chuckle inwardly and remember to tell someone else later…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. -HYSTERICAL. I can see him sitting there in all seriousness. I can see you fighting for control. This belongs in a book of teacher experiences. Perfect illustration for why one should refine one’s search. Unfiltered=not healthy. At least he seemed stoked (toked? Sorry-) about his topic.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So funny! I love your voice as the narrator. Even that beginning paragraph where you’re laying the scene. That “you know…” thrown in as you tell us what TMJ stands for feels like it epitomizes your great writing for me–it feels so casual and easy, but sets such a perfect tone.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I know I’ve had one heck of a hard year & I know I’ve missed a few of your posts as a result – this one reminds me why missing your posts is *always* a bad idea. I laughed out loud (true – my father just looked over at me, clearly worried that blogging has morphed into something else unfathomable) about the joints. Oh my. This is just the best. Honestly. Now I will go read the last two days’ worth because yesterday’s drive took FOREVER & I didn’t get to read anything.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment