Sometimes Two is Too Much

It’s 2:22 p.m. and I’m wondering what to write about for Tuesday, the 22nd day of the 2022 Slice Challenge.  For some reason, it feels like I should write something about things that relate to two.  Too obvious?  Too bad.

Last night Nancy and I watched two episodes of Mare of Easttown.  It may have been too much. We were getting very close to the ending, so we went for two.   I won’t spoil it for any of you who are as late to the show as we were.  Let’s just say episode number two tonight hit a bit too close to home for the two of us.  We have a connection to Mare that no parents want to have.  That’s not necessarily a spoiler unless you’ve read a lot of my entries.  It’s also not a spoiler since you find this out about Mare in the first episode.  

Last night’s episode had a flashback to the worst possible moment in a parent’s life.  It wasn’t graphic in the sense of gore or violence, but it was enough to give the two of us flashbacks.  Our two hands reached for each other. Our two sets of eyes looked away from the screen. Our two sets of eyes locked.  Our two broken hearts thumped.  We two may have had too much. There was no way we could watch a third episode of the night.  Nor was there a way to go to sleep at that point.  

We resorted to another antidote:  replacement images.  We watched The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel. It was season four, not two.  It was episode 7, not two.  And it wasn’t too serious or too long.  We exhaled.  And then we two went off to bed.

8 thoughts on “Sometimes Two is Too Much

  1. My heart goes out to you. I’m well aware – painfully and personally aware – of the situation you’re describing, and I guess if I could say anything, it’s that you’re not alone.

    Grief is weird sometimes, bringing images and memories I can never fully prepare myself for. It’s a full-on whomping. And after sitting in those moments, like you, I know that those replacement images can be really helpful…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was fun & funny – but that middle part, right smack in the middle of the humour – oof. In some ways, though, that was the best part. Isn’t that how grief resurfaces? Right in the middle of the fun. And it doesn’t have to stop the fun entirely – it just sort of requires a change of pace – like season 4 episode 7. Glad Mrs Maisel helped.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You somehow packed a lot into this slice, with more thought and wit than I could ever dream of. I loved the part where you and Nancy found each other’s hands and gaze. You two are lucky to have each other.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment