Feeling Fortunate

I can’t lounge on my porch and soak in the fields, the harbor, and the sound, but I can lace up my shoes and trek to them, 

and that will suffice.

I haven’t bothered to turn my front yard into a crocus farm, but I can plant my feet on the sidewalk below, turn my head, and reap the bumper crop of violet and white, 

and that’s enough.

I can’t commune with this elegance every morning, but I can drop my canoe in these waters and paddle alongside,

And that will do.

I don’t own these views, but with a bit of effort I’m afforded them, 

and really, that’s more than plenty. It’s good fortune.

15 thoughts on “Feeling Fortunate

  1. It was so nice to read this post filled with gratitude and a glimpse into your neighborhood. Like so many others, I really liked the way you structured it. Also, I can’t get over the number of crocuses in that yard. Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so gorgeous. I love the sentiment, love the crafting of the words to go with each image, and love the play on words in your ending, “I don’t own these views, but with a bit of effort I’m afforded them, /and really, that’s more than plenty. It’s good fortune.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that this was a different kind of post from you. I do enjoy incorporating pictures in posts. You are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful area. I have always thought Southport and Lordship feel like vacation spots!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment