Dueling Memories

I’m feeling a little bit like Big Tech is taunting me this morning.  Our February break has just ended, and Facebook, Shutterfly, and Google Photos have all decided that this would be a good opportunity to remind me that I have had much more interesting February vacations in the past. 

Shutterfly:   Hey, remember this?  National Margarita Day in Tucson! 

Me: Yes.  I remember…vaguely.

Facebook:  How ‘bout this one?  Parasailing in paradise last year!

Me:  Yes, I remember, just two weeks before the shutdown.  Seems like so long ago.

Google Photos:  Oh, look what I just found.  It’s you and Nancy on horses at sunset.

Me:  Okay, enough.  

This year’s break may not have been so photo-worthy.  Still, I can fight back at Big Tech Memory.  There’s this example of the human kind:

Nancy has just received a shipment of black raspberries from a high school friend who, out of the blue, sends her periodic gifts of food.  “You seem like you could use an ice cream break,” reads the note inside the package.  This friend remembered that in college Nancy dreamed of being an ice cream chef and mogul.  She also remembered that her favorite flavor is black raspberry.    She also remembered that Nancy is going through radiation treatments. 

This weekend, Nancy makes perhaps the greatest black raspberry ice cream I have ever tasted. Take that, Google Photos! Did you say touché, Shutterfly Memories? In your face, Facebook. Humans remember, too, and then they send things that let you make ice cream…and new memories.

12 thoughts on “Dueling Memories

  1. Starting the month off with some PvE wit – thank you! The opening “dialogue” pulled me right in and the end had me celebrating human memory and lasting connections! That ice cream looked DEElish! (thanks FB and NvE)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a thoughtful friend. We make ice cream too. One year it was my gift to my dad, a new batch every month for a year. We’ve never tried black raspberry. It was my grandpa’s favorite. I’m glad you’re here, taking on another year of slices.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a great slice – and packed with more than black raspberries. I’m sorry that Nancy is undergoing radiation treatment (though glad that radiation treatment exists). I love the dialogue with big tech – and, of course, ice cream. My favourite part? Your last line: “Humans remember, too, and then they send things that let you make ice cream…and new memories.” Indeed – and big tech can’t do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That ice cream sounds extraordinary… and what a thoughtful gesture. I hope Nancy does well with her treatments. I have a colleague who’s just finished them and we were talking via phone about the gift it was her being able to work because of remote teaching. The photos sound like treasures vs. taunts to me; beautiful moments to cherish. I have to say your daughter’s advice on your blurb for this post made me smile – she’s wise! For the record: Am I the only one who finds writing the blurb description to be one of the hardest parts of this Challenge??

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I was drawn into the beginning dialogue and loved the connection in the end back to the conversation. Looking forward to reading more of your slices that make me smile or touch my heart! Sending strength to Nancy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This made me smile. The surprise gift of raspberries (from a high school friend) was wonderful. But to create a delicious ice cream from it makes it even better. Thoughts of strength for Nancy are being sent (and will continue) as I type this.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve been known to lose HOURS of my day after being lured down the “old photos rabbit hole,” thanks to FB and Shutterfly. Definitely a blessing and a curse. I’m sorry to hear your wife is going through radiation… sending her wishes of health and healing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment