I remember a night

I remember a night when I was 12.  I was on a canoe trip.  It was August.  There were eight of us on the trip.  I can’t even name the other kids on the trip.  There are only three things I really remember from the trip.  One is that there were seven carries, or portages, times when we had to lug the canoes and all of our gear over a stretch of land to get to another body of water.  We did not enjoy the seven carries.  

The second memory is that we found a small black high top sneaker floating in the water one day as we were canoeing.  I was in the stern, and the kid in the bow scooped up the shoe.  We looked at it with some curiosity, but I don’t think we imagined anything sad or ominous, like I I might if I found one stray shoe today.  The kid in the bow used the shoelace to tie the sneaker to the front of our canoe.  We promptly christened our vessel, Black Bootie  (a take-off on the famous book.  Trust me, we didn’t know any other meaning of bootie.  It was 1973).  We thought we were very clever.

But the third thing I remember was the last night of the trip.  We had very little paddling to do the next day, so our counselors let us stay up late, hanging out on the flat rocks in front of our campsite at the edge of the lake.  Maybe the counselor knew what was coming.  I certainly didn’t.  As we lay on the rocks with a smoldering fire to chase the bugs, we stared up at a vast night sky darker than any we saw in the suburbs and cities where we spent our off-seasons.  The stars glowed so much brighter. I had never seen so many.  That alone could still a goofy group of pre-teens.  For a change, no one cracked jokes or showed off. 

But then someone broke the silence. “Did you see that?”

“See what?”

“I just saw a shooting star!”

“Did you make a wish?” one of the counselors asked.

“No, it happened too fast.”

Now everyone stared hard at the vast dome above us.  If there was one, there could be more.  Suddenly, there was another.  This time almost everyone saw it.  “Whoah!  I saw that.  I made a wish!”  

“Me, too.”

“That was so cool!”  

We had no idea what was in store for us.

Soon, we were up to five that we had spotted, some as faint streaks of chalk, others brighter. Now the count was ten. Then there were actually several flashing across the inky sky at once.  I remember saying to my friend that I was running out of things to wish for.  

We stayed up very late that night.  We probably saw more than 100 shooting stars. It could have been 200.  We lost count, but not interest.  I remember lying on my back staring wide-eyed at the show, like the heavens had put this on just for us, eight kids and two counselors sprawled on a rock in the middle of the wild universe.

I know now that it was the Perseid Meteor shower, and that Earth passes through it every August around the 11th or 12th.  I’ve gone outside on other summer nights, dragging family members with me, hoping to replicate that experience.  We’ve seen “shooting stars,” and sometimes we’ve seen what could be called a shower, but it hasn’t ever been quite that same experience of deep darkness, solitude, and spectacle.  

When I work with kids in my school these days, I want so badly for them to have an experience like that, free of frills and technology, free of complexity and competition,  just a moment of simple, open-mouthed, peace and awe.  They need it more than they know.

I need it, too.

11 thoughts on “I remember a night

  1. I cannot even imagine this stunning celestial sight. My “one word” for two years running is “awe”. It’s all about being open to such experiences – making ourselves available to awe, being aware of the wonders around us and that we’re part of something larger than ourselves. It is transformative. We ALL need it. A vital reminder, today, of just how much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is an awe-inspiring slice. First, you wrote it beautifully. You told each part with just the right amount of details, bringing the scenes to life. Then the show began. It began for me as I read your words, probably exactly the way you experienced it. I hope you share this post with students, it is a brilliant mentor text.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. We were talking a lot about what might be most helpful for the kids we work with. Wonder and awe seem to be missing for many of them. I can’t blame them, but wish we could help them find it.

      Like

  3. What a memory! That Black Bootie had me laughing so hard – I can see two boys in a canoe doing this, not even realizing that the name could have had another meaning. Such innocent and impactful memories of your adolescence in the summertime. You’re right – – kids need more times like these for sure. My brother saw a kayak floating down the river by our dock one time and jumped in the boat to go get it. He was all excited to find a kayak, where my mind went straight to where the kayaker was. We saw it from two perspectives. He chooses to believe that it fell off a dock a long way away, and I prefer to join him in that thinking. Your post makes me think of how we see things from different perspectives.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved reading about your memories, but especially, especially loved this ending: “I want so badly for them to have an experience like that, free of frills and technology, free of complexity and competition, just a moment of simple, open-mouthed, peace and awe. ” Something to strive for, indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ever so grateful for such a lovely accounting of time outside during the Perseids. I had a doting big brother growing up, one who had spent a lot of time outside in the woods, as woodsy as suburban Detroit could be, and who knew all about the Perseids. Many Augusts he would pull a ladder up to our garage and spot his three little sisters as we climbed onto the roof. We would lay up there in awe of the brighter explosions until we started to drift. I know after he guided us down the ladder and up to our beds, he would climb back up and spend most of the night gazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I remember seeing the meteor shower for the first time as well, and I think I was probably about the age that you were. What a moment of wonder it was. We ALL deserve wonder. And I have to think that people will always find their way back to it, even though it seems so many of us are lost, or have turned away. Maybe that’s the optimist in me, but yes. I do have to believe that we all have space for wonder…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That sounds magical. I wish we could all experience that wonder. I loved the line, “we lost count, but not interest.” I’m always in awe of all the vivid memories you have from the past.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Magic, I think. These lines, “like the heavens had put this on just for us, eight kids and two counselors sprawled on a rock in the middle of the wild universe” made me suck in my breath. Oh, how we all need a little awe right now – the kind that reminds us that the universe is wild and we are in the middle. (also, can I send my kids to you for camping and etc? I feel like you would be the *best* camp counselor ever.)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What an incredible experience. I love the way your counselors set you up for it, and the way you try now to let others experience the magic. Thank you for setting us up to experience it through this post. You should definitely write a book – this scene should be in it. Somehow this scene reminds me of the Rob Reiner film Stand by Me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment