Looking Back

I’ve sat at the computer for several hours this evening. I worked on my mom’s obituary. I hunted through photos. looking for just the right one or ones to include. That led me to the folders where I have old family photos. That led me to the slide show I had put together for my mom’s 90th birthday. We really wanted to give her a big party. We made arrangements for a venue. We invited lots of her old friends. We fretted over catering. Her birthday is in April, but before she could reach 90, the world shut down. It was the spring of 2020.

We’ll just postpone it, we thought. Nancy spent a lot of time negotiating with the caterer. “Yes, we still want to have the event, but we just need this pesky pandemic to pass.”

We never had that party. By the time the pandemic “passed,” so had the opportunity to get some of those old friends together. Health problems and contagion concerns, and my mom moving into independent living all got in the way. Now I guess I’ll use that slide show at her memorial. I really wish I’d showed it to her. I held it back for a while thinking I didn’t want to spoil it if we were going to show it at a party. Regret.

Now that I look back on my evening, I know that I wasn’t just procrastinating about my writing assignment. I was trying to work my way back in time through those photos. I don’t feel the regret of things unsaid. I do feel the sadness of time flowing faster than I’d like. Of not doing more the preserve some of the fleeting things…like her memories.

As my mom was slipping away, little bits of information slipped away, too. In the room where she lay, silently drifting off, we kept having conversations and those conversations kept raising questions, questions that only she could answer. “That person who worked at camp with Sarah. Her mom was one of my mom’s classmates in school. What was her name again?” We all looked toward my mom. Silence.

“Oh, the story about the two old ladies who sat down next to each other at a wedding and figured out how our two families were actually related…yeah, how did that go again?” We all looked toward my mom, and sighed.

Ninety-four years of knowledge, stories, and memories lived inside her. I’m glad we talked a lot. I’m glad I have pictures. I’m glad I can remember some of what she said. I wish she wrote more. I wish I’d written more.

7 thoughts on “Looking Back

  1. Oh, I don’t even know what to say. I have felt what you are feeling. My mom has been gone for 10 years now, and I still want to call her and ask her about some relative or event that I can’t quite remember, but I know she would. I’m so sorry for your loss. But you are writing and that is the best way to remember and honor your Mary. (She must have been a wonderful woman – she’s an April Girl like me!) https://allpoetry.com/Always-Marry-An-April-Girl

    Like

  2. It is so hard when older people filled with information and memories and history pass away. So much goes with them. But so much stays too. Keep telling stories, asking questions, and talking about your mom. You will keep so much of her with you and pass so much of her on to others. I’m so sorry for your loss. I know how hard it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We can always wish for more but I do believe maybe more wasn’t necessary. Sometimes, what we have is just enough. You have such incredible memories to hold. Thank you so much for sharing all these honest, real time slices. They mean a lot to a lot of people. I see in those pictures where you get your great hair!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve captured a lot and you can still write more of those memories down. I loved seeing the pictures of you and your mom. There’s such a resemblance!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. In the weeks before my grandma passed, I sat with her and I felt like I was soaking her up. She talked. I have a video of darkness, because I just wanted to record her voice. I have a note in my phone, trying to capture the words she used and the places she talked about in Italy. I felt this piece of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment